New System Set up 1 lac approx

Kalyana Kumar

Hi, Im new to the Hi-Fi world and looking to build an excellent sounding Music Equipment Package. Starting with an integrated amplifier, a cd player, an excellent set of speakers to compliment. My music is mostly western - the 80s, Rock, Pop, Jazz & Rock Fusion, Kenny G, Yanni, Indian Film music from the 50s to date and also some techno. Im a sucker for detail and like music to sound like im there in the midst of it. My budget for the same is 1 lac or less. Could the forum members throw some light on the same?

The set up will be in my living room which is 20x10. At the farthest point of the room, when seated I would be 19 feet approx away from the system.Behind me is a large window with glass and metallic but thin mosquito net. Usually covered by a large screen (8x8). I usually close the balcony door (next to the window) when i play loud music in the night. Where the system would sit is a huge wall and the sound is released to the other end which is largely open. My priority is clarity of sound and rich reproduction of music. I would also like good bass though not too much of it. My plan is also to get good quality cables to connect the speakers to achieve this end and make it as good as I can. So i would also like to know how much (length of the cables) to buy.

Last edited: