Sony MHC VX501 Mini Hi Fi System

pranky004

Hi people, I need a amplifier for my Bookshelf s Speakers. The original receiver is giving lot of IC problems. "Push Power Protect" Damn irritating. Spent more than 5k replacing IC 2 times already.

Need amp for 120 Watt RMS x 2 @ 8 Ohms

Thankyou :rolleyes:

Hi, I am a noob and starting my journey toward a high-end audio setup. I have a Sony MHC VX501 Hi-Fi System with speakers in pristine shape. The central unit no longer works. Can I use these speakers to build a Denon AV receiver-based setup? If anyone can guide me it will be a big help.

Hi, I am a noob and starting my journey toward a high-end audio setup. I have a Sony MHC VX501 Hi-Fi System with speakers in pristine shape. The central unit no longer works. Can I use these speakers to build a Denon AV receiver-based setup? If anyone can guide me it will be a big help.
I looked up the owner's manual and found these specs
Amplifier section
MHC-VX501
The following measured at AC 220 V 50/60 Hz
DIN power output (rated) 100 + 100 watts
(6 ohms at 1 kHz, DIN)
Continuous RMS power output (reference)
120 + 120 watts (6 ohms
at 1 kHz, 10% THD)
Speaker
SS-VX333 for MHC-VX501
Speaker system
3-way, 3-unit,
bass-reflex type
Speaker units
Sub Woofer:
13 cm, cone type
Woofer:
13 cm, cone type
Tweeter:
5 cm, cone type
Nominal impedance
6 ohms
The speakers are of 6 ohms nominal impedance and are designed to work with an amplifier with RMS 120 watts per channel.
So any other decent amplifier should be able to drive these speakers.

You will have no problem connecting them to any AV receivers but do compare the sound quality with some of the new speakers.

Thanks, sudoku for explaining. You have cleared several doubts. In that case, I am now thinking of using these as my desktop or bedroom TV viewing setup. I would be helpful if you can suggest amp+ DAC for these speakers.