Onkyo HT-S3700 suggestions

raghav3276

Hello friends,

I am new to HifiVision, and also quiet new to the HT world.

I am from Hyderabad and looking for a decent set of HT system for around 30K.

My choice of preferences are Movies:70-80%, Music:30-20%.
Room size is 8X6 feet.
Planning to connect the AVR to PC via HDMI(provided by NVIDIA GeForce GT 620), and finally hook the AVR to my 42" LG Cinema 3D.

So far I've narrowed down to Onkyo HT-S3700 (HT-S3700 | ONKYO Asia and Oceania Website). I've gone through the demo of it, and it was quiet good, but lacks bass(must say that I am a bass enthusiast ;).

I've reviewed that Onkyo binds many technologies/per buck when compared to other brands. But, how about the quality? I've also gone through some reviews complaining about overheating of Onkyo AVRs, poor cable quality, HDMI boards being damaged, etc.

I am getting a great deal of it for around 28K.

How far is this decision good?
Are there any other HTiBs out there that could fit in my budget?
If I go for Onkyo 3700, will I be able to upgrade my speaker system that came along with?

Thanks in advance
Raghav.

Hello,

Is there any issue with the question?? Why am I not getting any replies..??

Any way. I got the chance the audition a few HT setups, that I would like to put here :

Onkyo HT-S3700 : This is a HTiB from Onkyo, which was launched in July,2014.
It sounded fine, but was a bit harsh towards the trebles. Also, the bass was pretty dull. Apart from that, it has in-built bluetooth capability, 6 HDMI ports, 4K upscaling, etc etc.
The movie experience was quiet good. I've also streamed audio over bluetooth and even that sounded quiet well.
This costs around 28K